The day before the LAST DAY

I’m writing this in Ivany Cove, it’s 6:00am on the last day of the ride.

On Tuesday I discovered my frame broke near the rear wheel. My handlebars wobbled rapidly from side to side for a couple of days and I didn’t know what the cause was. I picked the back of the bike up and let it slam on the ground and it bounced weirdly. I don’t have a picture of it, but it’s a bad place to have the frame break. I took it to a welder in the morning on Tuesday:

image

I also noticed my back tire was shedding its first layer of rubber, and I had to get a replacement. None of the 3 shops I checked had a 700x32c tire, so I opted for a 30c. I was lucky: the tire was ordered for another customer who didn’t pick it up.

image

Yum yum:

image

I met Toru on the road Wednesday night and again Thursday morning. He is from Japan and worked in Winnipeg for 3 months before leaving for his bike trip east across Canada. He has a huge amount of stuff! I was behind him going down a hill going around 50km and was impressed by how stable his bike was!

image

image

image

I don’t see many children in Newfoundland:

image

About Ben Last

Riding across North America by bicycle to raise money for the River Woods housing co-op after a fire on May 7th, 2015 destroyed homes for 26 families.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The day before the LAST DAY

  1. Donna says:

    Does it seem hard to believe that you have done this amazing ride from the west coast to the east coast?

    Like

Leave a Reply

